The Complete Southern Cookbook

Dear Fellow Food Lovers,

For the past year, I have been spending every single moment of spare time writing a cookbook.  It has been a dream of mine for years and it has finally come true.  The Complete Southern Cookbook will be available in September 2010 and in bookstores in October 2010 (through Running Press out of Philadelphia).  What a glorious day it will be for me when I can hold the book in my hand and see the fruition of my work.  I believe it will be practically heavenly.

I have loved the process of completing this book.  I loved the recipe testing, the digging through my Mother and Grandmother’s recipes for “oldies and definitely goodies,” testing new ones and writing , which is something I never really knew I liked to do until 1989 when I began writing my Marketbasket column in The Tennessean.  Who knew?!

So, I wanted you all to be the first to know about this monumental moment in my life.  You are my culinary friends and it only seemed right to let you all know before the masses.  Thank you for your loyalty in reading my weekly articles, which I appreciate more than I can possibly say.  I have written nearly 1100 Marketbasket columns over the years … you would think that I would have run out of things to say by now!  HA!  So onward we march to return people to the kitchen and to enjoy really good Southern food!

Blessings to you all in the kitchen and in life,

Tammy

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

10 Comments on “The Complete Southern Cookbook”

  1. Laura Leach Says:

    And this is just volume one!

  2. Bob Washburn Says:

    I want an autographed copy! Please let me know when it’s available. Can you FB the notice?

  3. don hoyt Says:

    How do i get a autographed copy of

    “The Complete Southern Cookbook “

    • tammyalgood Says:

      Hello Don,
      I would be happy to autograph a book for you and send it to you. Have you already purchased one? The other day, someone was about to order one from Amazon. They just had the book shipped directly to me, then I autographed it and mailed it to them. Would that same type of plan work for you? If not, we’ll work something else out for your convenience. THANK YOU! I so appreciate your support and I hope you love the cookbook!
      Blessings to you,
      Tammy

  4. don hoyt Says:

    Bill me ?
    Donald Hoyt 1048 Secretariat Drive
    Mount Juliet, TN 37122-3567

    Book TO: LINDA
    DATE: 31 March 2011

  5. Connie Baker Says:

    I read where you have a video of making biscuits, and tried the email address, and couldn’t get through. Thank you! Connie Baker

    • tammyalgood Says:

      Connie,
      I did that video for Relish Magazine and it’s the recipe for Whipping Cream Biscuits. There will be a write up in their March issue as well. Go to http://www.relishmag.com and I adore my friends Teresa, Candice and Jill there at Relish. Bravo to Mark Boughton photography as well!

  6. sue watson Says:

    Tammy, wanted to say how much I enjoy your cookbook. I have fixed several recipes. I wanted to mention the orange crunch pecan cookies. I have made several times, really like them, this last time I put a light coating of powdered sugar after they were done. They were really good. My husband still likes them better without the sugar, but either way a great recipe.

    • tammyalgood Says:

      Thank you, Sue! I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know your experiences with the cookbook. I will certainly try the powdered sugar garnish the next time I bake them. Bless you!

  7. Diane McElhiney Says:

    Tammy, please post your fruit cake receipe you talked about in the newspaper on Dec. 7, 2011. I would love to have it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

