Homemade Ice Cream

I like simple recipes that are flexible.  This ice cream recipe fills the bill nicely.  You can omit the fruit and have a delicious vanilla or include it for a seasonal flavor.  Just follow the manufacturer’s directions for your particular freezer and enjoy.

Tammy’s Easy Ice Cream

2 cups sugar

2 quarts half-and-half

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 cups fruit (chopped into small pieces if necessary)

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the sugar, half-and-half and extract.  Stir until the sugar dissolves.  Add the fruit and freeze in your ice cream freezer until solid.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Homemade Ice Cream”


  1. Hi, Tammy. I’ve never tried to make ice cream, but this recipe has got me going.

    Great speaking with you last week. I’m working on your Nashville Lifestyles feature today, and am really enjoying reliving your interview. I so admire your passion and energy.

    I wanted to tell you the other day but didn’t think it was the place–I have a humble road food guide that I update as time and travel permits. If you get a sec in that busy schedule of yours, I’d be honored if you’d take a look. It’s at http://griftersguide.wordpress.com/

    Anyway, I hope you’re well. Look forward to meeting in person someday. Best of luck with the book. Fondly–Paul Griffith

  2. Dan Says:

    This recipe is coming out tonight! Blackberries and Peaches are fresh in Tennessee. They’ll be great with hommade ice cream. Yum!

    I’ll see you at the farmers market next week. Anyone wanting to see Tammy, check out http://picktnproducts.org/25_ptp.html to find out when she’ll be in your area!


Leave a Reply

